Pubdate: Mon, 15 Feb 1999
Source: PR Newswire
Copyright: 1999 PR Newswire


SAN JOSE, Calif., Feb. 15 /PRNewswire/ -- Steve Kubby, the 1998 Libertarian
candidate for governor who was arrested last month on marijuana charges -
despite being a medical marijuana patient protected under Proposition 215 -
was awarded the Libertarian Party of California's 10th biennial "Sons of
Liberty Award" at the party's state convention today.

The award - the state party's highest honor - is given to the candidate who
was most effective in communicating Libertarian principles to voters during
his or her campaign.  The award was announced at the 18th annual Samuel
Adams Society Luncheon, which capped off the party's 1999 convention held
this weekend in San Jose at the Doubletree Hotel.

The award comes nearly one month after Steve and his wife Michele were
arrested following a six-month surveillance of their home in Olympic Valley.
The Kubbys' medical marijuana case is scheduled to go before a criminal
grand jury on Wednesday, February 17, in Placer County.

"Steve Kubby ran a principled Libertarian campaign and fully deserves this
award," announced Samuel Adams Society founder and president Jack Dean, a
former Libertarian state chair.  "Even now, despite facing criminal charges
that are unwarranted and outrageous, he continues to embody the principles
of libertarianism."

Previous Sons of Liberty Award winners include Calaveras County Supervisor
Thomas Tryon (1997) and current Libertarian National Chairman David Bergland

Also presented at the luncheon was the Karl J. Bray Memorial Award for
Activism, given to Allan L. Swain of Whitmore.  The Bray award is designed
"to reward conspicuous and meritorious activism furthering the goals of the
Libertarian Party of California," according to the award criteria.

Swain, former party chairman of Shasta County, has been instrumental in
establishing and maintaining Libertarian Party county organizations in and
around Shasta, including Siskiyou and Trinity Counties.  Swain becomes the
award's 19th recipient.  Previous winners include former Libertarian state
chair Ted Brown (1988) and San Diego activist Richard Rider (1993).

Cypress Semiconductors President & CEO T.J. Rodgers was the guest speaker at
the luncheon.

The Samuel Adams Society was founded in 1981 to provide recognition to
Libertarian candidates and activists.

- ---
MAP posted-by: Don Beck